Indian Team for West Indies Tour

Posted In Sports - By NitiN Kumar Jain On Wednesday, June 17th, 2009 With 0 Comments

Pin It

Indian team for the tour of the West Indies later this month has been decided.

Two of the selectors, the chairman Krish Srikkanth and Raja Venkat, already monitoring the team’s progress in the UK, communicated with their three colleagues via a teleconference.

Mumbai all-rounder Abhishek Nayar is the lone new face in the team and the return of Delhi left arm paceman Ashish Nehra.

Zaheer Khan has been rested and Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar had made a request that he be rested for the tour. Sehwag is also not in the list due to his shoulder injury.

Following is the final 16 for West Indies:

  1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain)
  2. Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain)
  3. Gautam Gambhir
  4. Rohit Sharma
  5. Harbhajan Singh
  6. Pragyan Ojha
  7. Yusuf Pathan
  8. Murali Vijay
  9. S Badrinath
  10. RP Singh
  11. Praveen Kumar
  12. Ishant Sharma
  13. Abhishek Nayar
  14. Ashish Nehra
  15. Ravindra Jadeja
  16. Dinesh Karthik