ICC World Cup 2011 Groups & Schedule

Posted In Sports - By NitiN Kumar Jain On Thursday, January 6th, 2011 With 0 Comments

Pin It

2011 would be a cricket year. Other than lots of home and away cricket, ICC world cup 2011 is also around the corner.

It might also be the last world cup of Sachin Tendulkar, so a must watch.

As the world cup days are approaching there are already terror threats on it and the cup has been insured for whooping Rs 600 Crore.

Before it actually starts, let’s bookmark the grouping and the fixture of the Cricket World Cup 2011.

Two groups A and B with 4 strong sides and 2 underdogs in each group. India, Pakistan, England and South Africa are the favorites for this years cup.

Group A Group B
Australia India
Pakistan South Africa
New Zealand England
Sri Lanka West Indies
Zimbabwe Bangladesh
Canada Ireland
Kenya Netherlands

Top 4 teams from both the group will qualify for Super 8 and then top four teams in Super 8 will qualify for Semis. It would be really interesting to see the super 8 and the points on the basis of which the semi-finalists would be decided.

Here is the schedule. Most of the matches are in India then in Sri Lanka and then Bangladesh. Pakistan had already lost the hosting of matches due to the terror industry inside its territory.

First match is on 19th Feb and the final is on 2nd Apr in Mumbai.

Match Date Teams Venue
1 19 Feb India vs Bangladesh Dhaka
2 20 Feb New Zealand vs Kenya Chennai
3 20 Feb Sri Lanka vs Canada Hambantota
4 21 Feb Australia vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad
5 22 Feb England vs Netherlands Nagpur
6 23 Feb Pakistan vs Kenya Hambantota
7 24 Feb South Africa vs West Indies New Delhi
8 25 Feb Australia vs New Zealand Nagpur
9 25 Feb Bangladesh vs Ireland Dhaka
10 26 Feb Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Colombo
11 27 Feb India vs England Kolkata
12 28 Feb West Indies vs Netherlands New Delhi
13 28 Feb Zimbabwe vs Canada Nagpur
14 1 Mar Sri Lanka vs Kenya Colombo
15 2 Mar England vs Ireland Bangalore
16 3 Mar South Africa vs Netherlands Mohali
17 3 Mar Pakistan vs Canada Colombo
18 4 Mar New Zealand vs Zimbabwe Ahmedabad
19 4 Mar Bangladesh vs West Indies Dhaka
20 5 Mar Sri Lanka vs Australia Colombo
21 6 Mar India vs Ireland Bangalore
22 6 Mar England vs South Africa Chennai
23 7 Mar Kenya vs Canada New Delhi
24 8 Mar Pakistan vs New Zealand Pallekelle
25 9 Mar India vs Netherlands New Delhi
26 10 Mar Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle
27 11 Mar West Indies vs Ireland Mohali
28 11 Mar Bangladesh vs England Chittagong
29 12 Mar India vs South Africa Nagpur
30 13 Mar New Zealand vs Canada Mumbai
31 13 Mar Australia vs Kenya Bangalore
32 14 Mar Pakistan vs Zimbabwe Pallekelle
33 14 Mar Bangladesh vs Netherlands Chittagong
34 15 Mar South Africa vs Ireland Kolkata
35 16 Mar Australia vs Canada Bangalore
36 17 Mar England vs West Indies Chennai
37 18 Mar Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Mumbai
38 18 Mar Ireland vs Netherlands Kolkata
39 19 Mar Australia vs Pakistan Colombo
40 19 Mar Bangladesh vs South Africa Dhaka
41 20 Mar Zimbabwe vs Kenya Kolkata
42 20 Mar India vs West Indies Chennai
43 23 Mar First Quarterfinal Dhaka
44 24 Mar Second Quarterfinal Colombo
45 25 Mar Third Quarterfinal Dhaka
46 26 Mar Fourth Quarterfinal Ahmedabad
47 29 Mar First Semifinal Colombo
48 30 Mar Second Semifinal Mohali
49 02 Apr FINAL Mumbai